Return to Page A A A A M L XL

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

At Acklam Whin Primary School we follow the Statutory framework for the EYFS (Sept 2012) Nursery and Reception staff work together to make sure the curriculum we offer is shaped by the four guiding principles of the EYFS

Each day children in both Reception and Nursery experience a balance between adult led activity and child initiated learning. This balance shifts to more adult lead learning towards the end of the Reception year in preparation for Key Stage 1. Each day our children experience activities in both the indoor and outdoor environments. Daily Phonics teaching begins in Nursery with the teaching of Phase 1 (letters and sounds) this includes a range of speaking and listening activities to prepare children for blending to read and segmenting to spell later in the foundation Stage. There are seven areas of learning that are interconnected and shape the activities and experiences of each child on a daily basis.  
Prime Areas Specific Areas
Communication and Language Literacy
Physical development Mathematics
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Understanding the World
Expressive arts and design
  We have 3 overarching topics across the academic year and within them we have mini topics which explore the children’s interests further, these have included dinosaurs and space.
Autumn Term Spring Term Summer Term
Ourselves Fun and Fantasy Out and About